Solid National Opposition to Fracking

35% of General Election candidates nationally have committed to supporting legislation to ban fracking.  Details of party responses are as follows:

Party No. Candidates No. Signed the Pledge % signed
Fine Gael 86 2 2%
Fianna Fáil 71 18 25%
Sinn Fein 50 30 60%
Labour 36 6 17%
Green 40 41 100%
AAA/PBP 31 26 84%
Direct Democracy 20 7 35%
Renua 26 6 23%
Social Democrats 10 6 60%
Smaller parties 8 1 63%
Independents 163 41 25%
Total 541 188 35%


If Fine Gael and Labour are excluded, 43% of all candidates signed the pledge.  And as well as people signing the pledge, there were many statements of support.

“This is a remarkable response”, said Dr Aedín McLoughlin, member of the Vote Frack Free team. “Given the number of pledges that were being circulated, asking candidates to support many different issues and campaigns, to have 188 candidates physically signing the pledge showed that the fracking issue is getting a national response and is a live issue for the next government.

We look forward to continuing the campaign against fracking during the next Dáil session.  No matter who makes up the new government, campaigners against fracking will be lobbying them in really effective ways.  Only legislation will prevent fracking coming to Ireland; that is our focus for 2016, to take steps to ensure that legislation is drafted that government parties can sign up to.”




  • Fracking is now a national issue with all counties in Ireland responding to the campaign.
  • The two constituencies targeted for fracking – Sligo-Leitrim and Clare had the highest response rate.
  • Over 60% of candidates in Kildare North signed the Pledge.
  • All the Dublin and surrounding constituencies responded at 30% or higher, Dublin Central at 55%.
  • Response from Cork was mixed. Whereas over 40% of candidates in Cork North West signed the pledge, just over 12% in Cork East signed.
  • A surprising (negative) result came from Longford Westmeath where only 22% of candidates signed.


List of candidates that signed the Pledge and were elected:

Name Constituency Party
Bobby Alyward Carlow-Kilkenny Fianna Fáil
Ó Caoláin Caoimhghín Cavan Monaghan Sinn Féin
Timmy Dooley Clare Fianna Fáil
Michael Harty Clare Independent
Mick Barry Cork North Central AAA/PBP
Jonathan O’Brien Cork North Central Sinn Féin
Michael Moynihan Cork North West Fianna Fáil
Pearse Doherty Donegal Sinn Féin
Thomas Pringle Donegal Sinn Féin
Seán Haughey Dublin Bay North Fianna Fáil
Pat Casey Wicklow Fianna Fáil
Eamon Ryan Dublin Bay South Green party
Jim O’Callaghan Dublin Bay South Fianna Fáil
Mary Lou McDonald Dublin Central Sinn Féin
Maureen O’Sullivan Dublin Central Independent
Clare Daly Dublin Fingal Independent
Louise O’Reilly Dublin Fingal Sinn Féin
Eoin Ó Broin Dublin MidWest Sinn Féin
Gino Kenny Dublin MidWest AAA/PBP
Catherine Martin Dublin Rathdown Green party
Joan Collins Dublin South Central Independent
Paul Murphy Dublin South West AAA/PBP
Katherine Zappone Dublin South West Independent
Ruth Coppinger Dublin West AAA/PBP
Richard Boyd-Barrett Dun Laoghaire AAA/PBP
Catherine Murphy Kildare North Social Democrats
Seán Ó Feargháil Kildare South Fianna Fáil
Robert Troy Longford Fianna Fáil
Gerry Adams Louth Sinn Féin
Carol Nolan Offaly Sinn Féin
Eamon Scanlon Sligo-Leitrim Fianna Fáil
Marc MacSharry Sligo-Leitrim Fianna Fáil
Martin Kenny Sligo-Leitrim Sinn Féin
Tony McLoughlin Sligo-Leitrim Fine Gael
Séamus Healy Tipperary WUAG
James Browne Wexford Fianna Fáil